The local area around Llanwnda
There are no pubs or restaurants in Llanwnda itself - the nearest are in Goodwick and Fishguard (10 minutes drive or 40 minutes walk).
- The Rose and Crown
- The Farmhouse Kitchen Café
- The Fishguard Bay Hotel
- Gary's Takeaway
- The Glendower Hotel (no food)
- The Hope and Anchor
The countryside's the real attraction of Pembrokeshire - see our Local Walks page.
In Fishguard Town Hall, the Last Invasion Tapestry - a tapestry commemorating the Last Invasion of Britain in 1797 - is worth a visit (and Llanwnda's featured!). On a rainy day, try the County Museum at Scolton Manor - lots of interesting exhibits.
If the weather's good, try a boat trip to Skomer or Ramsey; or from Fishguard Lower Town, a wildlife trip with Razorbill Sea Safari. If you'd rather paddle your own canoe, try Kayak King or Mike Mayberry Kayaking.
Llanwnda is a small village about 2 miles north-west of Fishguard. There are about a dozen houses, 2 farms and a church. The church of St Gwyndaf's is named after Saint Gwyndaf Hen (Gwyndaf the Aged) and was built in medieval times, but incorporates some inscribed stones from the 7th century. There's a service on the last Sunday of each month. The only other St Gwyndaf's church is in the other Llanwnda, in Gwynedd near Caernafon.
Just above Garn Fach is the rocky outcrop of Garnwnda, which was occupied by the French Troops during the Last Invasion of Britain in 1797. It is owned by the National Trust. Ponies graze there during the summer; there is at least one badger sett and we've seen Green Hairstreak butterflies on the gorse. On a clear day, the views from the top are magnificent.
Near the top of the hill, there's a neolithic burial chamber ("cromlech") - a flat piece of rock about 15' x 9' with one edge raised 5 feet above the ground. It was examined in 1848 by J Fenton, and an article published in "Archaeologia Cambrensis" (now on Google Books). He found "decomposed burnt bones and fragments of very rude pottery".